Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Unique household identification number


This is a 26-character string variable.


HHID is an IPUMS-constructed variable that uniquely identifies households. HHID is a concatenation of enumeration area ID number (EAID), a count variable starting from one corresponding to each value of HHIDORIG, year (YEAR), and round (ROUND).

For cases where HHIDORIG is missing, HHID is a concatenation of enumeration area ID (EAID), household structure number (STRUCTURNO), household number within structure (HHNUM), year (YEAR), and round (ROUND).

HHID does not allow users to link records of households that have been interviewed in more than one round of survey of PMA2020.

A different construction is used for cases in which STRUCTURNO and/or HHNUM are missing, or if EAID is not available. See the Comparability tab for more details.

Comparability — Index

Congo (Democratic Republic)


In some samples, STRUCTURNO and/or HHNUM are not available or not complete, in which case IPUMS uses a different method to construct HHID. A small number of cases did not have values for the original household identification number HHIDORIG, STRUCTURNO, or HHNUM. For these cases, EAID is concatenated with 10 digits of zeroes.

Comparability — Congo (Democratic Republic) [top]

Neither STRUCTURNO nor HHNUM are available in the 2013 Democratic Republic of the Congo sample. IPUMS ordered the original household identifier HHIDORIG, assigned a number to each starting with 1, and concatenated EAID and this 10-digit sequential number.

Comparability — Nigeria [top]

The census enumeration areas in Nigeria did not contain enough households to satisfy sampling requirements, so EAID is not available. Instead, Nigeria samples use CLUSTERNG to represent sampling areas. CLUSTERNG is used as a component of HHID in the place of EAID in these samples.


  • All persons.


  • Burkina Faso: 2014-2017
  • Congo (Democratic Republic): 2013-2017
  • Cote d'Ivoire: 2017-2018
  • Ethiopia: 2014-2018
  • Ghana: 2013-2017
  • India: 2016-2018
  • Indonesia: 2015-2016
  • Kenya: 2014-2017
  • Niger: 2015-2018
  • Nigeria: 2014-2018
  • Uganda: 2014-2018